Monday

The African Cup of Nations kicked off a little over a week ago with a match between South Africa and Cape Verde.  Since then there have been two group stage matches per day, and I’ve indulged myself in watching at least one match a day.  It’s a tournament after all.  Time limited.  Only 31 matches.  There’s something captivating about a tournament.  A tournament is an occasion, a season like Christmas.

I followed the African tournament last year.  Someone was posting all the matches on YouTube.  The commentary was in Russian (mainly, though one of the matches had French commentary), but I didn’t mind.  The football, while not of the flowing, fluid sort that I prefer, was dramatic, exotic, festive.  The bright colors: orange, green, red, yellow.  The banners and costumes of the fans, elaborately designed, vibrantly colored.

When I start following a tournament, I’m enthusiastic for about five days.  Then I start getting spectator fatigue and so I end up missing the last round of group stage matches, the matches that should be more interesting.  The same thing happened to me over the summer when I tried to follow the European Cup.  The group stage is wrapping up over the next few days.  Then the knock-out stage begins.  I won’t miss any of those matches.

On Saturday I attended a craft beer festival.  Over the years, I’ve become less interested in beer festivals, primarily because festivals tend to be jam-packed with people.  Not that I am a misanthrope, it’s just that I prefer to keep a little personal space between me and my fellow drinkers.

The festival on Saturday was (in part) hosted by my brewery but it’s really a community effort, a partnership with our village civic association and a good friend of ours who runs an event planning business.  It’s the fourth year we’ve put on this festival.  We limit ticket sales to just under two hundred people which means that the festival hall isn’t overcrowded.  There’s plenty of room to move around and (more importantly) there are never any beer queues or queues at the toilet.

This year at the festival I made sure I talked at length with Kenny about my plan to help grow a soccer supporter movement on Long Island, similar to the craft beer movement which led to the foundation of the Long Island Beer and Malt Enthusiasts and the launching of half-a-dozen new breweries on Long Island in the last six or seven years.  It’s time to augment craft beer culture with soccer culture and create a network of soccer pubs pouring craft beer all over the island.  Let’s give those thousands of craft beer enthusiasts something worth-while to do while they are at the pub: support their soccer club.

The reason why I was keen on talking with Kenny (beyond the fact that he’s a nice guy) is that he is in the process of purchasing a bar in Mt Sinai.  These things take time.  Permits, licenses, financing, etc.  Most importantly, Kenny is a soccer fan.  The key to making a successful soccer pub is the full and unbridled support of the pub’s owner.  Just as craft beer pubs put the beer first and make it clear that craft is a value, soccer pubs have to put the beautiful game first.  It won’t work if the owner doesn’t love and value the game.  Soccer supporters can tell.

Soccer culture is different than any other sport culture in the world.  People fanatically follow baseball, hockey, basketball, etc., but the fan culture for these other sports has a different quality than supporter culture in soccer.

The small world effect kicked in at the beer festival.  A long-time friend of mine, Wes, introduced me to a long-time friend of his named Eric.  “You two will get along,” said Wes.  “Eric’s into soccer too.”  Not only is Eric into soccer, Eric is a Borough Boy.

The Borough Boys are a Brooklyn-based soccer support group that started in 2007 with a mission to bring professional soccer to New York City.  You might think that New York City has a professional soccer team already, the one that plays in New Jersey, but the Borough Boys wanted something better, something within the five boroughs of New York.  And the best shot at getting what they want (at the present) is the New York Cosmos.

I told Eric about my own interest in the Cosmos and my vision of supporter culture on Long Island and how to grow it.  “The seed of soccer culture will be planted in beer,” I said holding up my glass.  “Supporters need a place they can call home.  A place to meet.  A place where they can hang their banners.  A place to gather and watch the away fixtures.  A place to catch the bus to the home match.”  That’s when I introduced Eric to Kenny.  Making connections.

Leave a Reply

